What to read after BONE?

August 25, 2011 | Scott

Comments (1)

Bone One graphic novel series parents might recognize from hearing excited requests and seeing their kids devour volume after volume is Bone by Jeff Smith. Bone is truly one of the best children’s graphic novels available because of its wide appeal across age groups, gender and genres. Imagine a trio of wacky cartoon characters thrust into a Lord of the Rings-style, high fantasy adventure with a little bit of romance thrown in also. With only nine volumes in the series, (along with a few companion books) it doesn’t take long for kids to polish off this great series.

If your child is new to graphic novels, a reluctant reader or just a hungry graphic novel fan, keep up their reading momentum with more graphic novel reads. Here’s a few examples of fantasy-related books you can suggest once they’ve finished reading the entire Bone adventure.

Amulet by Kazu Kibuishi Amulet
Two siblings, brother and sister, discover the true identity of their great-grandfather, which leads them to discovering their own magical abilities and sends them on an otherworldly adventure to save a magical land from an evil Elf King.

Walker The Unsinkable Walker Bean by Aaron Renier
Reluctant hero Walker Bean sets off on a voyage to return a cursed skull to its rightful owners, a pair of merwitches, after his grandfather falls ill from its magical powers. But everyone wants the skull for their own selfish purposes including a strange Doctor and a band of pirates.

Mouse Guard by David Petersen Mouseguard
Enter a world of medieval mice and the Mouse Guard, a brotherhood of warriors sworn to protect their fellow mice by providing safe passage or protecting them from predators. This is a great book for more mature readers with its more realistic depiction of war and battle.

Artemis Artemis Fowl, a graphic adaptation of the novel by Eoin Colfer
The popular Artemis Fowl series is about a criminal mastermind who gets wrapped up in a world of dangerous and deadly fairies. This graphic novel adaptation of the first book is sure to capture the attention of fans of the original series and those being introduced to Artemis for the first time.

Fans of Bone and Jeff Smith should note that he will be appearing at Fan Expo Canada this weekend!

Comments