Toronto Public Library Homepage

This page has been archived and is no longer updated.

Databases

School and association cruising

February 23, 2015 | Ranald | Comments (0)

The e-resource Career Cruising is good for profiling careers. What might not be so obvious is that it's also good for finding out where, in pursuit of a career, you can go to school; and what related, local associations there might be.

  Banner

 

Schools

Say you want to know where you might go to school to become a chef. Click on "Careers", enter "chef" in the keyword search window, and select "chef" from the results.

On the page for chefs, select "Education" from the menu on the left. Scroll down to the "Related college & university programs" menu and select e.g. "Culinary arts / chef training." This will take you to a list of links to colleges and programs in Ontario (the default).

Associations

Let's say you're a pharmacist and wish to know what associations for pharmacists there might be. Again, click on "Careers", enter "pharmacist" in the keyword search window, and select "pharmacist" from the results (the only result, actually).

On the page for pharmacists, select "Other resources" from the menu on the left. Among the links that are listed will be links to Canadian associations for pharmacists.

 

E-resources in Chinese

February 19, 2015 | Niki | Comments (0)

ThCAETNP9NHappy New Year!  Happy Year of the Yang!  The big debate over Sheep or Goat is explored in this CTV story but most treat it philosophically: "The year of the yang, 2015, is neither a sheep nor a goat. It is a beautiful and elegant milk yang! Abundant milk, clothes and food. It will be a halcyon year," wrote one user on Sina Weibo, a Chinese equivalent of Twitter.

To celebrate this major, global holiday I thought I'd look at some of the e-resources that we have in the Chinese language.

1Overdrive:  Overdrive has about 1200 eBook titles in Chinese. You can filter a search by language or click on  Chinese in the Language Collections at the top of the home page to bring up a list to browse.  We could also type a search in Chinese characters that would bring up the title.  Most titles appear to be in simplified script.

Zinio: Zinio has about 40 magazines.  The great thing about its content is that many are popular, Hong Kong and Taiwanese titles. They include various editions of Cosmopolitan and GQ as well as well as Common Health Magazine and Next .  These can also be searched in Chinese characters but with 40 titles its easy Coverto browse.

hoopla:  While unable to search in Chinese characters hoopla does have a good browsing collection of movies in "Chinese Cinema".  The language is specified as Cantonese, Mandarin or (unhelpfully) Chinese.

2Chinese E-magazines: This carries 2300 full-text magazines from  the People's Republic of China.  They cover a broad range of subjects including art, literature, history, science, politics, health, business, economics and more. The magazines can be viewed in both simplified and traditional characters.  The interface can be set to traditional or simplified so the magazines are more accessible.

This is just a quick list.  What have I missed? 

 

 

 

 

Safari Tech Books Online

January 26, 2015 | Susan | Comments (0)

Have you ever felt sheer panic when faced with an unfamiliar piece of technology?

A few years ago, when Windows 8 first came out, I was expecting a spiffier-looking version of Windows 7. Instead, the operating system looked different, the icons were in all the ‘wrong’ places, and the Start menu was nowhere to be found. When library customers needed help with basic tasks on their Windows 8 laptops—be it connecting to the Wi-Fi or opening a Microsoft Word document—I was stumped. I admit I panicked. If I didn’t own a Windows 8 PC, how was I supposed to learn to use one?

Safari Tech & Business Books Online saved my life!

ProQuest Safari Books Online

I accessed a few introductory videos and quickly learned the basics. Then, I turned to eBooks—and the ‘search this book’ feature—to find all the information I needed. My Windows 8-related anxiety just melted away.

Search This Book  Using Windows 8

Before you ask, I did also search Google and YouTube, both of which are great resources when you have tech questions. I found I prefer Safari because it provides trusted content that’s thorough, well-organized, up to date, and easy-to-understand.

Safari is now a hidden gem that I cannot live without!

While Windows 8 will soon be a thing of the past—Windows 10 is here, and rumor has it that upgrading is FREE—there’s always new technology, as well as skills that need refreshing, and questions that stump us.

 Safari Tech & Business Books Online

As of today, Safari Tech & Business Books Online contains "over 36,755 technology, digital media, and business books and videos." Access is unlimited and available anytime, anywhere, with a valid library card.

To access Safari, you need to navigate to the eBooks & Downloads section of the TPL website (where OverDrive, Zinio, Hoopla, the lesser known OneClick Digital, and eBooks for Kids are housed).

Safari is the place to go if you need a tech book ‘now’ and: the book was published yesterday and hasn’t yet made its way to the library shelves; it’s 2am and you really can’t wait until morning; the only library that has the books you need is halfway across the city; or all the copies of a particular book are checked out. 

Safari has lots of eBooks to help you with basic computer skills, from Microsoft Word and Excel, to Facebook, and using Email.

Learning Microsoft Word 2013 Excel 2013 all-in-one for dummies My Facebook for seniors Communicating Effectively with Email

You can also use Safari to become a Digital Innovation Hub pro and learn all about: the Arduino or Raspberry Pi; 3D printing; Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, and Adobe InDesign or GIMP; and Adobe Dreamweaver, HTML and CSS.

Learn Raspberry Pi Programming with Python Mastering 3D Printing LiveLessons Real World Adobe InDesign CC Adobe Dreamweaver CC Learn by Video

Moreover, if you’re a visual learner and prefer videos over books, Safari could very well become your favourite tech learning resource.

It’s also great for very specialized tech book, especially ones which, in my humble opinion, sound like they’re in a foreign language. “Cisco CCENT/CCNA ICND1 100-101," “Apache Hadoop YARN,” and “Node.js, MongoDB, and AngularJS Web Development," are just a few examples. Yes, these are all real tech topics that you can learn about on Safari.

Cisco CCENT/CCNA ICND1 100-101  Apache Hadoop YARN Node.js, MongoDB, and AngularJS Web Development

While I’ve mostly focused on Safari's tech book and video content, I want to point out that it has other subjects as well:

Categories

Here are some examples of the type of content you can find on Safari:

No Excuses! The Power of Self-Discipline The Manga Guide to Physics Discrete Mathematics with Ducks Your Photos Stink!

I highly recommend you give Safari Tech & Business Books Online a try!

Take some time and explore all the great titles that are available. It is a wonderful resource if you're looking for non-fiction eBooks.

Digital Content For The Holiday Season

December 22, 2014 | Joanne | Comments (0)

OneClick Digital eAudiobooks

The holidays are a perfect time to relax and listen to some eAudiobooks. OneClick Digital Audiobooks has many popular titles for adults, teens and children. Set up is easy. First time users need to create an account and download the OneClick Digital Media Manager software to their computer.  Video tutorials are available to help you get started. The OneClickdigital eAudio app is also available for Android, iPhone, iTouch and iPad users.

The Orenda Z08003_image_128x192 And the mountains echoed 5000340_image_128x192 Bone clocks Z04473_image_128x192 Flowers in the Attic Z10410_image_128x192
Diary of a Wimpy kid Z0094_image_128x192 Invention of Wings Z07810_image_128x192 Pimsleur Chinese Mandarin 54303_image_128x192 Pimsleur French 54958_image_128x192

                          

Simon & Schuster Titles Now Available in OverDrive

A great selection of eBooks published by Simon & Schuster was recently made available through OverDrive.


I've Got You Under My Skin {DE3AF86E-21DB-4CF0-9192-92A9880E6C59}Img400

One for the Money {2377EA58-AA5C-416B-BF89-A417F896A1AE}Img400 Hilary Clinton {CD270001-8A28-4C0D-8D7E-688D36A5FC99}Img400
Fahrenheit {63348573-0F7A-4FB9-B84F-F83F7FF14D54}Img400 Team of Rivals {BDACE166-9808-4859-A723-D933B7E6FF66}Img400 Steve Jobs {C6794636-A74F-49AE-A54D-C87EA3858B02}Img400

                              

Zinio Digital Magazines - New Condé Nast titles now available

Some great new Condé Nast digital magazine titles are now available through Zinio. Customers can checkout and download issues to a computer, smartphone or tablet.

Vogue cover Vanity Fair cover   New yorker cover
GQ cover Bon Appetit cover Vogue Italia cover

   There is something for everyone. Happy holidays!


 





   

  






Naxos Jazz and all that other jazz

September 22, 2014 | Niki | Comments (1)

BillieWhy is it so difficult to find good early jazz here? In Montreal they had a great collection and here there is almost nothing that I want.” I got defensive about this question – we have a great library system – ask anyone – but was quite polite and said I would look into it.

Well I did and he was right – in a way. Montreal’s public media collection is superb and is centrally located in one building. He neglected to mention that this building was the Grande Bibliothèque,  part of Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), Quebec's national library. It is not merely for Montreal but for the whole province.

I contacted him and recommended that he tryCharlie our Naxos Music Library Jazz. He was thrilled there was a way for him to access quality jazz in his area of interest.

Naxos Music Library Jazz (NMLJ) is a reservoir of great jazz from over 200 labels (including the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, and Fantasy). The recordings in NMLJ come from over 8,600 albums (92,200 tracks) and 32,000 artists. NMLJ offers a mixed selection of jazz legends and contemporary jazz. Recordings can also be accessed from anywhere the patron chooses. You can create playlists in NMLJ. Once you log in and start your playlist you can exit NMLJ and keep your tunes playing in the background as you go about the rest of your life. You can download the free Apple app or use its  HTML5 for Logo_nml_jazzmobile browser. It’s a great resource for the jazz lover and it’s very easy to search for your favorites and build multiple playlists to organize them.

Music plays an important role in life of our City and Garcia TPL has recognized and supported this. In 1915 the Music Library was established as one of the library’s first subject collections. In 1959 the collection moved to the Howard Ferguson house on Avenue Road. Ogreta McNeill, Canada’s first professional music librarian and head of the music library, described it as “a home away from home; a drawing room where people could sit in nice leather chairs with their feet up and listen to music". The collection moved to the new Metropolitan Toronto Library in 1977. (1)

Today, our reference collection for music (including scores) is in the Arts Department on the 5th floor of the Toronto Reference Library, branches hold CD collections of interest to their neigbourhood and we have virtual resources such as Naxos Music Library, Naxos Music Library (Jazz) and Music Periodicals, International. On June 23, 2014, TPL staff tabled a Report to the Board on the Toronto music collection and the Board made a series of recommendations on the direction the library could take in the 21st Century.

P.S.

IPictures-r-4679n Ogreta McNeill’s eulogy it was mentioned “She had energy, authority and persuasiveness, and, when called for pursued her cause of music librarianship with directness, spirit and determination. And pursued other causes as well: I believe she cancelled her TSO subscription after the infamous episode of the “Symphony Six”.

What was this infamous episode? 

A free Tim’s coffee card to the first response!

Have You Visited the Pew Research Center Lately?

April 26, 2014 | Richard | Comments (0)

 Pew

The Pew Research Internet Project includes the kind of information that we like to cite in library reports and documents, notwithstanding its focus on the United States.

According to the website, "The Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project aims to be an authoritative source on the evolution of the internet through surveys that examine how Americans use the internet and how their activities affect their lives."

Much of this information is applicable across the boarder here in Canada.

The website was listed as an Outstanding Choice Title in 2006.

While there have been some formatting changes in recent times, it is worth quoting the review in full:

"Outstanding Title! 44-0384 Internet Resource

Pew/Internet: Pew Internet & American Life Project.
http://www.pewinternet.org/

[Visited Jun'06] Anyone searching for information on the digital divide, generational differences in Internet use, or how people use the Internet in everyday life will find this site essential. One of six projects from the nonpartisan think tank Pew Research Center, Pew/Internet hosts reports and data that "explore the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life." Content dates from 2000 to the present with frequent updates. Searching for reports is easy and may be accomplished through a pull-down menu listing broad categories (e.g. demographics, health, education, online activities and pursuits, and family, friends, and community) or a search box. The site is organized into seven sections that include Reports, Presentations, Data, Press, and Latest Trends. Each section offers summaries and access to full-text documents. The Reports section summarizes recent reports, e.g., "Finding Answers Online in Sickness and in Health" and "Internet's Growing Role in Life's Major Moments," and provides links to the full text in PDF file format. The Data section provides links to the survey datasets for the reports; Latest Trends provides links to charts and Excel files for "Who's Online" and "Internet Activities." The site offers a wealth of Internet usage information and analysis that differs from the plethora of marketing research sites online, and it provides vital data not covered by other entities such as the General Social Survey http://www.norc.uchicago.edu/projects/gensoc.asp or the various public opinion polling agencies. Visitors may use the RSS feed or sign up for a newsletter. Content is also searchable through the main Pew Research Center site http://www.pewresearch.org/. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All collections.

--S. Clerc, Southern Connecticut State University - Copyright 2006 American Library Association"
 
Looking at the website in 2014, we see a continuation of the same preoccupations, as many new and interesting reports, presentations, and data sets address issues pertinant to Pew's mission:
 

Summing Up: I would recommend bookmarking The Pew Research Internet Project website, and check it from time to time for developments important to our work.

Make it your Business

March 19, 2014 | Diana S. | Comments (0)

There are a lot of resources on businesses at the library. In addition to the business programs, business inc., and business network, there are the business databases. The most popular ones include: 

Business Insights: Global (Formerly Business and Company Resource Centre)
This database is international in scope. You can research, analyze, interpret & better understand country, company, and industry information as well as gain access to key financials, market share reports, and investment reports on private and public companies worldwide. You can make investment decisions with access historical stock price trends. It is also possible to compare countries, companies and industries and to export a comparison chart. 

 


Financial Post (FP) Advisor
This database provides detailed information on Canadian publicly traded companies, and some private companies, Crown corporations and municipal & provincial agencies.  You can find details about companies, information on predecessors and defunct companies, investor reports, historical reports, industry reports, information on dividends, as well as mergers and acquisitions.

 


Mergent Online
This database contains detailed global financial data on over 15,000 U.S. public companies, 20,000 non-U.S. public companies from 100 countries, 20,000 U.S. municipal bond issuers, and extensive information on corporate bonds, dividends, corporate actions and unit investment trusts. You can access industry reports on a variety of sectors as well as country reports on over 90 countries.

 


Scott's Business Directories Online
This database contains company information on over 190,000 businesses located in Canada.  Information includes basic contact information on Canadian agencies and companies in manufacturing, government, medical educational sectors. You may find web site and email address as well as size of company, annual sales and year established.

 

Helping your Job Search Along

February 3, 2014 | Susan | Comments (0)

The library has so many useful online databases to help the job seeker such as: 

Scott’s Business Directories Online provides information about Canadian agencies and companies in manufacturing, government, medical and educational sectors.  Scotts

 

Career Cruising an interactive career guidance resource with in-depth profiles of careers, colleges and universities, available also in French.

Career cruising

Financial Post (FP) Advisor provides information on Canadian publicly traded company i.e. private companies, Crown corporations and municipal and provincial agencies as well as predecessors.

Financial post

Safari Tech & Business Books Online provides the latest books and videos from major technology and business publishers.  Covers web and software development, management, and marketing.

Safari

 

Business Insights: Global (Formerly Business and Company Resource Centre) is international in scope, contains company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories market reports, as well as chronologies.

Business Writing provides core skills for business writing including letters, reports, emails, etc.

Susiness writing

Marketline provides current industry trends & product development.  News on companies and industries worldwide.

TenseBuster includes lessons and practice tests to help improve English grammar.  Elementary to advanced levels and ESL.

Tense buster

 

These are just a few to get you started,   however many more can be found under Databases and Online Research Tools Business and Careers.

Useful websites include:

You can create your own calling card using templates in MS Word using Vistaprint: www.vistaprint.com and Microsoft Office Online:  http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/templates

 

Career and job search programs offered at the library can be found at www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/programs-and-classes

Wanting to Find Product Reviews? Try Consumer Reports Database

September 16, 2013 | Mary-Beth | Comments (0)

Consumer reportsWhether shopping for a new car or a new laptop, Consumer Reports offers trusted advice on consumer products and services.  It includes ratings, articles, buying guides and recommendations on thousands of products.   It also has videos talking about the strengths and weaknesses of products as well as free newsletter subscriptions on topics like cars, safety alert, greener choices and more. 

Find ratings for cars, appliances, electronics, home & garden, babies & kids, money, shopping and health.  Consumer Report also allows you to select specific models and compare them to others in the same category.  1354562423_consumer-reports-january-2013-1

Read the latest issue of the magazine online and once there browse through back issues dating back to 2009. 

Consumer news offers the most recent research CR has carried out from topics like food processors or high-performance tires.  There is also a list of recalls and safety. 

To access Consumer Reports start at www.torontopubliclibrary.ca, and type “consumer reports” in the search box.  Click on Access Online, enter your library card and PIN numbers, click on Continue and explore this useful database.

 

 

Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself People

August 26, 2013 | Susan | Comments (0)

Chilton On-Line Auto Repair Manuals are the go to reference sources for do-It-yourself automotive enthusiasts, professionals and students.  Chilton has been helping people maintain cars and trucks for more than 80 years. Chilton’s Auto Repair database provides online repair manuals, maintenance schedules, service bulletins,   photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step procedures, wiring diagrams. 

Chilton can provide you with:

  • Latest automotive news
  • Tips, tricks and vehicle information
  • Communicate with other enthusiasts like yourself
  • Blog – some of the recent topics include – Which Antifreeze is Right for your Vehicle?; Top 5 Brake Complaints and How to Resolve Them; Under Pressure…Keeping Your Tires Inflated Will Make Them Last Longer & Your Vehicle Will Use Less Fuel Too; Which Basic Hand Tools Do you Need; How to Replace Tires Like a Professional

 

Please check out these titles for some your car repair needs available at TPL.

 

  Dare to repair WWhat the expertsIndex.aspx Car and driver

  Repair your carEssential car Classic body Classic mustang



Welcome to the Information Services Blog! Visit often to learn about useful tools, collections and other resources to help answer reference questions. Get the scoop on new and innovative trends and services. Join us and send us your feedback!