What Toronto Read in 2022 : Teen Books

December 6, 2022 | Mike

Comments (0)

Magic and murder were well-represented in the most popular authors and series for teens in 2022. Fantasy and mystery series occupied all but one spot in the top ten, continuing the trend of escapism in our most popular adult books (link). Fantasy novels remain the biggest driver of the teen publishing landscape with big series giving readers the chance to dive deep into other worlds. Mystery titles were also in demand this year with three authors who have been gaining in popularity in recent years.

Covers of the ten most borrowed teen authors in 2022.

A number of the authors/series have also had their popularity boosted with movie and TV adaptations. Five of the ten authors have had some of their books adapted for the screen, so there has been crossover appeal.

Here are our most popular teen authors and series of the year, based on checkouts and active holds.

Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J Maas

1. Sarah J. Maas

Assassins, faeries and corrupt kingdoms – the books of Sarah J. Maas have it all! The fantasy author continues to be tremendously popular, even though she has been transitioning away from writing teen fiction for the past couple of years.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

2. Leigh Bardugo

The Grishaverse novels by Leigh Bardugo continue to be in high demand after the success of the Shadow and Bone TV series. The second season will be coming to Netflix in 2023, so we can expect interest in the books to remain high.

Heartstopper volume one by Alice Oseman

3. Alice Oseman

Speaking of Netflix shows, we had to buy a lot of copies of the Heartstopper graphic novels this year after the excellent adaptation debuted in April. Fans of Nick and Charlie – so basically everyone - have their fingers crossed that the second season will be out next year.

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

New readers continue to discover The Hunger Games series, extending the popularity of the dystopian series. The film adaptation of The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes prequel is set for release in November 2023, which means that interest in the series isn’t going away soon.

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer

5. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Another enduring series! Just like Bella and Edward, the popularity of Twilight will never die.

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

6. Holly Black

Holly Black followed the path of Sarah J Maas and released her debut adult novel this past year. The good news is that The Folk of the Air series, about a mortal girl living in the faerie world of Elfhame, will be spun-off in 2023 with The Stolen Heir.

One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus

7. Karen M. McManus

Murder! Lies! Secrets! The mystery author continues to thrill readers with well-crafted plots and unpredictable twists.

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

8. A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

This mystery series brought a shocking amount of death and crime to one small town, but readers didn’t seem to mind. Holly Jackson is leaving the series behind for now with the recently published Five Survive.

Imagine Me by Tahereh Mafi

9. Tahereh Mafi

While the Shatter Me series continues to be popular, Tahereh Mafi delighted fantasy readers with a new series in 2022. The first book, This Woven Kingdom, introduced a world where Jinns and humans have entered a truce – for now. Courtly intrigue and forbidden romance ensue!

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

10. The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Take the characters from Dynasty and put them in an escape room to get the basic premise of this incredibly fun series about a teenage girl who inherits a billionaire’s fortune for unknown reasons. Now his four smart (and sexy) grandsons, who grew up being tested by their grandfather’s puzzles and games, want to figure out why she inherited his wealth.


Want to see what else Toronto read in 2022? Check out the list of the most popular adult books and children's books.

Comments