2020 Women's Prize for Fiction Longlist

March 9, 2020 | Book Buzz

Comments (3)

Sixteen novels have been selected for 2020's Women's Prize for Fiction. This is the 25th year for the prize following the realization the only 10 percent of nominees in the history of the Booker Prize were women although more books written by women were published.  

This year the nominees include three authors who are no strangers to the award. This is the fourth nomination for Ann Patchett who won in 2002 for Bel Canto. It is also the fourth nomination for Hilary Mantel although she has never won the prize. The Mirror and the Light, the final book in Mantel's  trilogy about Thomas Cromwell is in the running; both of the previous books in the trilogy were also nominated. Anne Enright has been nominated for the third time for Actress

Debut novels by Deepa Anappara, Taffy Brodesser-Akner, Candice Carty-Williams, Luan Goldie,Jing-Jing Lee and Claire Lombardo are also nominated. 


Actress by Anne Enright

Djinn patrol on the purple line

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara


Dominicana by Angie Cruz

The dutch house

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Fleishman is in trouble

Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner

Girl by edna o'brien

Girl by Edna O'Brien

Girl woman other2

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

Hamnet and judith

Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell

  • Scheduled Canadian publication date: May 5, 2020 under the title Hamnet and Judith (not yet available at Toronto Public Library)

How we disappeared

How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee

The mirror and the light

The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel 

Most fun we ever had

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo

Nightingale point

Nightingale Point by Luan Goldie


Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Red at the bone

Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

Thousand ships

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes

  • A Thousand Ships is not currently available in Canada


Weather by Jenny Offill


The shortlist will be revealed on April 22, 2020 and the winner will be announced on June 3, 2020.