Celebrating N.K. Jemisin's Hugo Win

August 24, 2018 | Book Buzz

Comments (0)

On Sunday August 19, 2018, N.K. Jemisin made history by winning science fiction's prestigious Hugo award for Best Novel for the third consecutive year. It is the first time since the Hugo award was created in 1953 that this has happened. Jemisin is no stranger to significant achievements; in 2016 she became the first African American writer to win the Hugo Award for Best Novel for The Fifth Season, the first book in the Broken Earth Series. Followed by The Obelisk Gate in 2017 and The Stone Sky in 2018, each of the novels in the series has captured this award. In addition, Jemisin's win has been viewed as the end of the Sad/Rabid Puppies attempts to influence Hugo winners. 

At this point, I could review the history of the Sad/Rabid Puppies but if you're curious about the details you should do an online search. Briefly, the groups attempted to influence nominations for the Hugo awards which they believed were too often rewarding literary and message-oriented science fiction. The movement was largely viewed as an effort to suppress diverse and women authors.  

But enough of that, let's celebrate N.K. Jemisin's historic win by watching or reading Jemisin's inspiring acceptance speech. 

Award-winning novels by N. K. Jemisin:

The hundred thousand kindgoms

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

Jemisin's first novel was released in 2010. The first novel in the Inheritance Trilogy, it won the Locus Award for Best First Novel, the Sense of Gender award and Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award. It was nominated for  James Tiptree Jr.,  Nebula, Hugo, World Fantasy, and David Gemmell Morningstar awards.  

Broken kingdoms

The Broken Kingdoms

The second novel in the Inheritance Trilogy won the Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award, Best Fantasy Novel, 2010.

Shadowed sun

The Shadowed Sun

 Winner of the Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award, Best Fantasy Novel, 2012.

Fifth season

The Fifth Season

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel, 2016.

Obelisk gate

 The Obelisk Gate

Hugo Award, Best Novel, 2017.

Stone sky

The Stone Sky

BSAM: Black Speculative Arts Movement - Toronto 2018 Convention