Man Booker Prize Announces 2018 Longlist

July 24, 2018 | Book Buzz

Comments (0)

The Man Booker Prize judges have selected a unique group of thirteen books for this year's longlist. Considered among the most prestigious of literary awards, the prize is awarded annually to the best novel written in English that was published in the United Kingdom. For the first time in the 50-year history of the prize, a graphic novel is in contention. In Sabrina by Nick Drnaso, a US Air Force airman is drawn into a web of paranoia, conspiracy theories and fake news following the disappearance of a young woman. Another surprise on the list is Belinda Bauer's crime novel, Snap which describes the impact of a crime on a young boy and his relentless search for justice. 

Two Canadian authors have been nominated this year. Michael Ondaatje, who previously won the prize for The English Patient, has been nominated for Warlight. Esi Edugyan is on the longlist with her forthcoming novel Washington Black which will be released in September 2018. She was previously shortlisted for Half Blood Blues.

Please note that books eligible for the Man Booker Prize must be published in the UK or Ireland between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018, so some of the nominated titles have not yet been published in Canada--some may not have been published anywhere.  Toronto Public Library will add the nominees to the collection as soon as they are available in Canada. 

The longlist:

Everything under

Everything Under by Daisy Johnson

From a low and quiet sea

From a Low and Quiet Sea by Donal Ryan

In our mad and furious

In Our Mad and Furious City by Guy Gunaratne

Long take

The Long Take by Robin Robertson

Mars room

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner


Milkman by Anna Burns

Normal people

Normal People by Sally Rooney 


The Overstory by Richard Powers


Sabrina by Nick Drnaso


Snap by Belinda Bauer


Warlight by Michael Ondaatje

Washington black

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan

Water cure

The Water Cure by Sophie Mackintosh

The Man Booker shortlist will be released on September 20, 2018 and the winner will be presented at a gala on October 16, 2018.