Writers' Trust Fellowship Awarded to Eden Robinson

November 13, 2017 | Kelli

Comments (1)

At a fundraising gala event on November 7, the Writers' Trust of Canada named Eden Robinson as the third recipient of the Writers' Trust Fellowship. This fellowship, which is awarded to a writer who has demonstrated outstanding creativity and promise, comes with an award of $50,000. Previous fellowships have been given to Michael Crummey and Miriam Toews

Eden Robinson is a novelist and short fiction writer from the Haisla and Heiltsuk First Nations. Traplines was Eden Robinson's debut collection of stories. It won Britain’s Winifred Holtby Prize in 1997.



Monkey Beach was her first novel. Combining contemporary realism with Haisla mysticism, it was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and a Governor General’s Literary Award and received the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize.

Monkey beach
 • ebook
Talking Book (Restricted to print disabled patrons)


Her second novel, Blood Sports was published in 2006.  Set in Vancouver’s Downtown East Side, it is a tough, gritty story, about the brutal  relationship between two cousins — Tom and Jeremy Bauer.

  Blood sport

Her next book was not a novel, but the text of her talk at the 4th annual Henry Kreisel Lecture at the Canadian Literature Centre in March 2010. In The Sasquatch at Home: Traditional Protocols and Modern Storytelling, Robinson shares stories about her early life, her family and her culture.

The sasquatch at home

Son of a Trickster is her most recent novel. It is  the first volume in a projected trilogy and has been shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize to be awarded on November 20. 

Son of a trickster

In addition to the Fellowship, the Writers' Trust of Canada has several literary awards. The 2017 winners for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction, and the Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize will be announced on November 14.