Books for the 140th Anniversary of the North-West Mounted Police

May 23, 2013 | M. Elwood

Comments (0)

North west mountedAfter the Dominion of Canada purchased the Northwest Territories from the Hudson's Bay Company in 1870. Prime Minister John A. Macdonald decided that a permanent police force, originally called the North West Mounted Rifles was needed to patrol the area. After concerns from the United States about an increased military presence in Canada, the name was changed. The North-West Mounted Police was established on May 23, 1873.

In 1920, the force merged with the Dominion Police to form the present day Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

These novels feature the North-West Mounted Police and the RCMP:

Darkness at the stroke of noon
Shadow riders
Wash this blood clean

Coppermine by Keith Ross Leckie
A North-West Mounted Police Officer and his Inuit interpreter travel to a remote arctic region to investigate the murder of two missionaries.

Darkness at the Stroke of Noon by Dennis Richard Murphy
An RCMP officer teams up with a former FBI agent in Nunavut to investigate the murder of an archaeologist who has been excavating a site containing the remains of the Franklin Expedition.

Extensions by Myrna Dey
After finding a photograph of her grandmother at a garage sale, an RCMP officer begins an investigation of her family's history.

Shadow Riders by B.J. Bayle
In this young adult novel, two teenage boys try to recover a stolen herd of horses with the aid of the newly formed North-West Mounted Police.

Wash this Blood Clean from My Hand by Fred Vargas
In Québec to study DNA techniques with the RCMP, Commissaire Jean-Baptiste Adamsberg is accused of murder that eerily resembles one from his childhood.