Toronto Public Library Homepage

This page has been archived and is no longer updated.

« Previous | Main | Next »

And the Series Continues...Upcoming Books of 2014

January 4, 2014 | Kate S. | Comments (1)

I read a lot of stand alone books, but I am a huge fan of trilogies and series. I love how you get to spend a longer time with the characters and in the worlds that the authors create. Here are a few of the upcoming books I am eagerly anticipating to be published in 2014.   Read the earlier books now, and you'll be all set for the latest installments when they are published!:

Written in my own Heart's BloodWritten in My Own Heart’s Blood is the eighth installment in Diana Gabaldon’s Historical Romance Series, Outlander. This series is set mainly in 18th century Scotland, and the United States, with some events in current day.  If you love historical romance, this is a great series with lots of romance, history, and a little bit of the paranormal.  Start at the beginning with this one, you won’t want to miss out on any of Claire and Jamie’s story. Scheduled to be published in March 2014, and available now to place holds in the TPL catalogue.
      Outlander      Dragonfly in Amber      Voyager


The Dead in their Vaulted ArchesThe Dead in their Vaulted Arches is Alan Bradley's sixth novel featuring 11 year old Flavia de Luce. If you haven’t read any of this mystery series, you’re in for a treat.  Don’t be turned off that the main character is only 11 years old.  Flavia is intelligent, charming, and hilarious.  I fell in love with the first Flavia book, Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, and I can’t wait for another. Scheduled to be published in mid-January 2014, and available now to place holds on in the TPL catalogue.

       Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie      A Red Herring Without Mustard      The Weed that Strings the Hangman's Bag 

All Souls TrilogyThe Book of Life is the final book in the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness. I couldn’t put down the first book, A Discovery of Witches, full of romance, mystery and historical tidbits, it was excellent.  I wasn’t as thrilled with the second book, Shadow of Night, but I’m still eagerly awaiting the final book in this trilogy. Try the first two and see what you think, and keep your eyes out for the third which will be published in July 2014.

                A Discovery of Witches           Shadow of Night


Visions Visions will be the second book in Kelley Armstrong's new series Welcome to Cainsville. I love Armstrong's previous Adult series Women of the Otherworld, and her teen series Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising. Omens is a bit of a departure from her previous books, but it is still focuses on the paranormal with lots of action, mystery and adventure. Visions won't be published until August 2014, but try out Omens, the first in the series, or one of her older series, you will be glad that you did!

Omens  Bitten  The reckoning  Gathering


City of Heavenly FireCity of Heavenly Fire is the 6th book in Cassandra Clare's The Mortal Instruments series. I love Young Adult books, and while this series is a bit of a guilty pleasure, I will admit that I can't wait for the next one! If you love action packed series with the paranormal, romance, and lots of action this is for you. Follow teenage Clary Fray and the rest of the Shadow Hunters as they fight to protect the world from evil. Look for it to be published in May 2014. In the meantime try one of the earlier books in the series.

     City of Bones      City of Ashes      City of Glass


Welcome to the Barbara Frum District Blog! This interactive space is filled with information about your community and your library. We will keep you up-to-date on the latest happenings in the community and on the newest library events, resources and programs.

We want you to be part of our blog too. We invite you to reply and post comments. Also, remember to subscribe to the RSS feature which will enable you to receive blog updates without having to search for them. How the RSS feeds work