Research Guide

Research Guide to International Courts, Tribunals and Truth & Reconciliation Commissions

February 21, 2013 | Katherine | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

International Courts and Tribunals are generally established by the United Nations to investigate and try war crimes and crimes against humanity. Examples include the Nuremberg Military Tribunal to try Nazi war crimes, and the International Criminal Court.

Truth and Reconciliation Commissions are established by governments to investigate wrongdoings by past governments. The commissions are part of a process of transitional justice. Truth and reconciliation commissions are not courts although they often address the issue of whether perpetrators of crimes and injustices should be brought to trial.

Areas covered by international courts and tribunals include:

  • War crimes and crimes against humanity
  • Human rights violations
  • Trade disputes between governments
  • Armed conflicts between states

Definitions of War Crimes, Laws, and Treaties

Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide:  Full text of the United Nations convention on genocide.

International Humanitarian Law—Treaties & Documents: The Geneva Conventions and other treaties from the International Committee of the Red Cross. The conventions and treaties focus on the protection of victims of war, including civilians and prisoners of war, methods and means of war, etc.

Rule of Law in Armed Conflicts Project (RULAC):  Full-text documents on international humanitarian, human rights, criminal, and refugee law.  Full-text articles address various aspects of international law in armed conflicts. Database allows researchers to pick a country and find out what armed conflicts it is now involved in and what aspects of domestic and international law are applicable.

Searching the Library Website

    Suggested Subject Headings and Keywords

Many terms in this list can also be combined with geographic locations e.g. Human rights--Rwanda.You can use the filters that appear on the left of the results screen to further limit your search results by Type (e.g. Books, Movies and Videos), Language, Age Level, Library Branch, and Subject.

Suggested Titles

Court of remorse    Human rights    Missing souls Peace and justice 2        

 

 

 

 

 

All the missing souls: a personal history of the war crimes tribunals

Atrocities and international accountability: beyond transitional justice

Court of remorse : inside the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

Human rights in international relations, 3rd ed.

The international judge : an introduction to the men and women who decide the world's cases

International judicial institutions : the architecture of international justice at home and abroad

International law : contemporary issues and future developments

Judging war, judging history: behind truth and reconciliation

Peace and justice at the International Criminal Court: a court of last resort

Peace versus justice? : the dilemma of transitional justice in Africa

  Judging war  Peace vs justice        International law Jud insitutions

 

 

 

 

 

 

Additional Online Sources

Present International Courts for War Crimes:

International Criminal Court:   Established by the United Nations to examine cases of genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes. Site contains full-text procedural rules, cases from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Central African Republic, Darfur (Sudan), and Libya.

International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Special Court for Sierra Leone  

Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia

The first three courts above have been established by the United Nations to try cases of war crimes, while the fourth court was established by the Cambodian government, with United Nations assistance, to try those accused of committing atrocities under the Khmer Rouge government. All sites contain case transcripts, historical investigations, procedural rules, reports, and newsletters.

    Truth and Reconciliation Commissions & Transitional Justice: 

African Transitional Justice Network

International Center for Transitional Justice: Investigates legacies of mass abuse of human rights in many countries. Included are news and research articles, links to truth and reconciliation commissions, annual reports.

International Crisis Group: Includes materials on transitional justice along with links to truth and reconciliation commissions.

Transitional Justice in Africa: the experience with Truth Commissions: Provides overview of transitional justice issues in Africa, full-text articles, links to government and non-government resources.

    War Crimes & Mass Violence:

Armenian National Institute: Reports by diplomats, survivors, journalists, and photographs, maps and other full-text materials on the Armenien genocide during World War One.

Frederick K. Cox International Law Center: War Crimes Research Portal: Annotated lists for topics such as the Armenian genocide of 1915, the Jewish Holocaust, war crimes in the Vietnam and Iraq wars, protection of civilians, war crimes tribunals and trials.

Institute for Research of Expelled Germans: Full-text articles about 10 million ethnic Germans deported from Eastern European countries after World War Two.

Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence: Scholarly work in progress featuring chronologies, case studies, country reports, theoretical papers, reviews of the history of different mass killings.

Rutgers University—Center for the Study of Genocide, Conflict Resolution & Human Rights—Forgotten Genocides Project: Case studies of several lesser known genocides—the Assyrians of Iraq and Turkey; Circassians in the Russian Empire; Greeks in the Ottoman Empire; Kurds in Iraq.  

Yale University—Genocide Study Program: Several genocide research projects, including colonial genocides committed against indigenous peoples along with genocides committed since World War II. 

Nazi War Crimes and the Nuremberg Military Tribunal

Library of Congress—Military Legal Resources—Nuremberg Trials: Complete American records of the trials of Nazi war criminals including the trial of the major criminals (Hermann Goering and 21 other defendants). 

Library of Congress—Military Legal Resources—Law Reports of trials of War Criminals: Records for trials of war criminals in Germany and Japan during the late 1940s as compiled by the United Nations War Crimes Commission. 

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: Government documents, personal testimonies, photos, and other resources about the Jewish Holocaust. Also much primary and secondary material about Roma (Gypsies), gays, the disabled, and other victims of Nazism. 

Yad Vashem: the Holocaust Martyrs’ and Heroes’ Remembrance Authority: Based in Israel, the Yad Vashem site on the Jewish Holocaust contains full-text documents, diaries, eyewitness accounts, registers of names, academic studies. 

    Investigation of crimes committed in the Former Soviet Union & Eastern European countries

With the exception of the former Yugoslavia, there have been no war crimes trials in the former Soviet Union and former Eastern European Communist countries. Nor have truth and reconciliation commissions been established. However, there are government and non-government groups that are investigating crimes of the Communist period.

Memorial: Full-text documents (almost entirely in Russian) include lists of executed people (with Joseph Stalin’s signature), lists & biographies of arrested political opponents & religious leaders, police reports & minutes of meetings of leaders of the Communist Party.

Against their will: the history and geography of forced migrations in the USSR by Pavel Polian: Full text in Russian of Polian’s monograph about the mass deportations of peasants, ethnic minorities, and other groups by the Soviet government. 

Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation: Related Links: Many of these sites are online museums, while others are run by government commissions investigating both Nazi and Communist crimes. Sites contain full-text documents and photographs along with links to the former security services. Much material is available in English.

 

International_Criminal_Court_logo.svg

For further assistance contact:

Humanities & Social Science Department, Toronto Reference Library
416-393-7175
trlhss @ torontopubliclibrary.ca 

 

International Criminal Court (ICC) logo Wikimedia Commons


 

 

 

 

Research Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies

January 17, 2013 | Katherine | Comments (5) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ) is a large and often interdisciplinary field that is well-represented in the Toronto Public Library’s collections.  Research collections are housed at the Toronto Reference Library in the Humanities and Social Sciences Department, and at the North York Central Library in the Society and Recreation Department.  Books that cross into areas such as art and literature, are generally housed in the Arts and Literature departments of these libraries. Yorkville Library houses TPL’s Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender Collection, which concentrates on popular books and DVD’s as well as select scholarly titles.

Searching the Library Website

    Suggested Subject Headings and Keywords

Many terms in this list can be combined with geographic locations (e.g. Gay liberation movement Canada), as well as with other subjects (e.g. Homosexuality law and legislation United States). You can use the filters that appear on the left of the results screen to further limit your search results by Type (e.g. Books, Movies and Videos), Language, Age Level, Library Branch, and Subject.

    

    Suggested Titles


    Canada

QueercanAbout Canada:queer rights

Queerly Canadian : an introductory reader in sexuality studies

Faith, politics and sexual diversity in Canada and the United States

The Canadian war on queers : national security as sexual regulation

Queer inclusions, continental divisions : public recognition of sexual diversity in Canada and the United States

Political institutions and lesbian and gay rights in the United States and Canada

Lesbian and gay rights in Canada : social movements and equality-seeking, 1971-1995 

 

    International 

Aldrich2.php

Gay Lives 

Flaming souls: homosexuality, homophobia, and social change in Barbados

Queer indigenous studies: critical interventions in theory, politics and literature

Combating discrimination grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity: Council of Europe standards-Council of Europe

 

From disgust to humanity: sexual orientation and constitutional law

Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide (3vols)

Stonewall : the riots that sparked the gay revolution

Sexuality and human rights : a global overview - International Bar Association. Conference (2000 : Amsterdam, Netherlands)

 

    Queer Theory

FoucaultMad for Foucault: rethinking the foundations of queer theory

Deviations : a Gayle Rubin reader

If memory serves : gay men, AIDS, and the promise of the queer past

Thinking queerly : race, sex, gender, and the ethics of identity

Sexuality, nationality, indigeneity

 

 

     Arts

 Soldiers2 Soldiers, rebels, and drifters : gay representation in Israeli cinema

Laramie project : ten years later

Cinematic queerness : gay and lesbian hypervisibility in contemporary Francophone feature films

Out at the movies : a history of gay cinema

Queer popular culture : literature, media, film, and television

 

  

    Literature

Uncanny

 

The queer uncanny : new perspectives on the gothic

The Cambridge companion to gay and lesbian writing

After sex? : on writing since queer theory

Queer universes : sexualities in science fiction

 

 

 

    Suggested Magazines and Journals

The following titles are currently received in print format. Check branch holdings for availability. A keyword search for “homosexuality periodicals” in the catalogue will also show periodical titles which are available electronically, through databases shown below under “Online Library Resources”.

GLQ : a journal of lesbian and gay studies

Journal of Homosexuality

Xtra

The Advocate

 

Online Library Resources

    Suggested Article Databases

You can find magazine and newspaper articles on LGBTQ issues by searching the library’s electronic databases. Suggested databases include Academic Onefile, CBCA Complete, Canadian Periodicals Index (CPIQ), and JSTOR.  In addition, the library offers access to a specialized database, GLBT Gender Studies. These resources can be searched from library computers, or from home or school using your Toronto Public Library card.

   

    Additional Online Sources

Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives

International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission  (An international human rights advocacy organization . Includes information by country.)

International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association

ARC International

International Commission of Jurists: Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI) (Includes fulltext access to SOGI publications.)

Human Rights Watch: LGBT Rights

Inside Out: Toronto LGBT Film Festival

 

Flag2       Flag2       Flag2

For further assistance contact:

Humanities & Social Science Department, Toronto Reference Library
416-393-7175
trlhss @ torontopubliclibrary.ca

Research Guide to the Humber River (Ontario)

November 24, 2012 | Katherine | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The Humber River watershed is a defining geographic feature of the west and north part of Toronto, and includes some of the oldest native peoples and European settlements in the region.  In 1954 it overflowed its banks under the onslaught of Hurricane Hazel, and the resulting loss of life and extensive property damage led to the formation of the Metropolitan Toronto & Region Conservation Authority (now Toronto & Region Conservation Authority), and the establishment of flood plain guidelines that continue to govern development along Toronto's rivers. The still navigable Humber is popular for canoeing and fishing, and there are miles of hiking and bike trails running beside it.

Find research materials on the Humber in the Toronto Collection in the Humanities & Social Science Department at the Toronto Reference Library and the Society & Recreation and Canadiana Departments at North York Central Library.  Some titles may also be available at other library branches.

  White bridge
    Humber River Pedestrian Bridge  Creative Commons 2.0: veggiefrog


Searching the Library Website

    Sugggested Keywords

Use the column at the left on the Library search page to focus and limit your search by type of material, date, library branch or subject.

Other terms related to river valley issues:

  • Pollution
  • Rivers
  • Streams
  • Conservation
  • Watersheds
  • Watershed management
  • Wetlands
  • Urban ecology

    

    Suggested Titles

Walking into wilderness : the Toronto Carrying Place and Nine Mile Portage

Humber River: the carrying place

Crossing the Humber : The Humber River heritage bridge inventory

Listen to your river : a report card on the health of the Humber River watershed

The Humber : tales of a Canadian heritage river

Toronto wet weather flow management master plan : study area 3 - Humber River : final report

Humber Forks at Thistletown

Pesticide concentrations in the Don and Humber River watersheds (1998-2000)

Humber River watershed fisheries management plan : draft. Prepared in support of legacy: a strategy for a healthy Humber

Legacy : a strategy for a healthy Humber

The Humber River/High Park/western beaches civic design study : final report

Three hundred years in and around Swansea School grounds : the story of the first white man's trip down the Humber River and historical sketch of S.S. 22

The merchant-millers of the Humber Valley : a study of the early economy of Canada

Humber River watershed plan : pathways to a healthy Humber

Hurricane Hazel

Hurricane Hazel : Canada's storm of the century

Flood data : Humber River, October 15-16, 1954

Hurricane Hazel

Hurricane Hazel damage along the Humber River, 1954  Toronto Reference Library

    Suggested Articles

You can find magazine and newspaper articles on the Humber by searching the library’s electronic databases. Try Academic Onefile, Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies, Canadian Newsstand Torstar, Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA), Canadian Periodicals Index (CPIQ), General Onefile.  You can find images of the original newspaper coverage of Hurricane Hazel, and other news stories in the Toronto Star: Pages of the Past and the Globe and Mail: Canada’s Heritage from 1844.

These can be searched inside the library, or from home or school using your Toronto Public Library card. 
 

     Suggested Magazines and Journals

Magazines, newspapers, or newsletters that discuss watershed issues:

Humber Advocate (1994-2001)

Humber River Advocate (2001-2008)

Humber River Advocate (current issues)

Toronto Field Naturalist

Humber 1910
Old Mill, Humber River 1910  Toronto Reference Library

 

Additional Online Sources

Canadian Heritage Rivers System: Humber River

City of Toronto: Humber River Parks

City of Toronto-Humber River/Don River Stream  Restoration for Infrastructure Protection Municipal Class Environmental Assessment (EA) Study

Federation of Ontario Naturalists

Humber River Pedestrian Bridge

Humber Valley Heritage Trail Association

Humber Watershed Alliance

Hurricane Hazel: 50 years later

Ontario Ministry of Environment

Ontario Trails Council: Humber River, Old Mill and Marshes

Toronto Plaques: Humber Walks

Toronto Public Library: Historical images of the Humber River

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA): Humber River Watershed

Waterfront Trail

 

For further assistance contact:

Humanities & Social Science Department, Toronto Reference Library
416-393-7175
trlhss @ torontopubliclibrary.ca


800px-Old_Mill_Bridge_over_the_Humber_River,_Toronto_a_couple_of_hundred_yards_North_of_BloorOld Mill Bridge over the Humber River  Creative Commons 2.0: John Vetterli

 

Research Guide to the Don River (Ontario)

October 18, 2012 | Katherine | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The Don River and its valley are defining features of the city of Toronto.  Water, power, industry, expressways, wildlife, pollution, recreation, conservation—issues related to the Don affect all citizens. Find research materials on the Don in the Toronto Collection in the Humanities & Social Science Department at the Toronto Reference Library and the Society & Recreation and Canadiana Departments at North York Central Library.  Some titles may also be available at other library branches.

Searching the Library Catalogue

Suggested keywords:

Use the column at the left on the Library search page to focus and limit your search by type of material, date, library branch or subject.

Other terms related to river valley issues:

  • Rivers
  • Streams
  • Pollution
  • Conservation
  • Watersheds
  • Watershed management
  • Wetlands
  • Urban ecology

 

Suggested titles:

Don mouth naturalization and port lands flood protection project: amended environmental assessment report 

Imagined futures and unintended consequences: a environmental history of Toronto's Don River Valley 

Lower Don Lands framework plan : lower Don Lands, Toronto, Ont.

Keating Channel precinct plan : Keating Channel Precinct, Toronto, Ont.

Don River Watershed plan : beyond forty steps

Evergreen at the Brick Works: Final master plan

Don Valley corridor transportation study:master plan: summary report

Wet weather flow management plan : Don River watershed

Pesticide concentrations in the Don and Humber River watershed (1998-2000)

Over the Don

Time for bold steps : Don watershed report card

The Don : the history of the Don Valley

Celebrating the Don : selected essays from At the forks, the magazine of the Friend of the Don East

Lower Don River Valley demonstration habitat wetland : environmental study report

Lower Don River : regeneration strategy and naturalization plan, Pottery Road to the forks

West Don Lands

ECOLAGE: an environmental public art ideas competition for the Lower Don River Valley

Lower Don River Valley demonstration habitat wetland project

Forty steps to a new Don : the report of the Don Watershed Task Force 

Bringing back the Don

Remembering the Don : a rare record of earlier times within the Don River Valley

 

Suggested Articles

You can find magazine and newspaper articles on the Don by searching the library’s electronic databases. Try Academic Onefile, Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies, Canadian Newstand Torstar, Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA), Canadian Periodicals Index, General Onefile.  These can be searched inside the library, or from home or school using your Toronto Public Library card.

The Humanities & Social Sciences Department at the Toronto Reference Library has clipping files on microfiche from the 1960s to 2010.   Ask for the files on the Don River, Don River Task Force, Environmental planning – Toronto, Central Waterfront Planning, and Harbours-Toronto.

 

Suggested  Magazines and Journals

At the forks

Bring back the Don

On the Don (also available online at Don Watershed Resources)

Toronto field naturalist

 

 Additional Online Sources

Task Force to Bring Back the Don

Don River and Central Waterfront Project

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project

Federation of Ontario Naturalists

Evergreen Brick Works

Friends of the Don East

Humber River/Don River Stream Restoration

Lost River Walks

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA)-Don River Watershed

Toronto Historical Plaques-Rivers and Waterways

Toronto Public Library--Historical images of the Don River

Waterfront Toronto West Don Lands

Waterfront Toronto Lower Don lands

Waterfront Trail

 

For further assistance contact:

Humanities & Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library

416-393-7175

trlhss @ torontopubliclibrary.ca

Chesterspring1
Chester Springs Marsh at the Prince Edward Viaduct, Don River

Photo courtesy City of Toronto

 

The Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online . . .

September 4, 2012 | Richard | Comments (1) Facebook Twitter More...

DCBrev

Have a look . . . 

Cartier; Champlain; Franklin; Sir MacDonald; Secord; Shadd; and Trudeau.

There are a further 8,431 portraits in the Online edition of the Dictionary of Canadian Biography, or DCB as it is commonly known: concise and well written, these pieces are exceptionally well researched, and exactly cited - making them a perfect start for serious research on almost any topic in Canadian history, especially those involving people.

The Online version of the DCB reproduces and extends the print version, including its essential chronological arrangement. The DCB in print organizes entries by the year the subject died. The first volume covers a 700 year period from 1000 to 1700, and subsequent volumes cover a range of periods from 9 to 39 years.

The online Advanced Search page includes volume searching under the "Date Range of Death" category. (note: coverage for any date past 1930 includes only a small selection of biographies that will appear in forthcoming print editions.)

The centre and right hand columns of the page includes a "Full-Text Search" option to look for common and distictive words in biographical entries: "astrolabe" (3 matching entries); "HBC" (513); "Jamaica" (138); "Napoleonic wars" (139); "Pemmican" (25); and "shipbuilding" (233).

Options are present for browsing in different ways, most obviously "by the first letter of the last name".  And "Browse by Identification" allows searchers to select from catagories like "Aboriginal people" (254 matching entries); "Blacks" (39); "Business" (2,146); "Fur Trade" (323); Inventors (39); Mariners (132); and Politicians (1593).

The "Browse by Geographical Location" option can search for entries by the capital cities, as well as by the provinces. A quick review shows that the majority of the entries emanate from eastern Canada (eg. Halifax has 922 entries, whereas Victoria has 315).

A "Gender" search allows for the selection of entries by "Female" (504 entries) or "Male" (7,934). 

All of the searches listed above can be "modified". For example, if we choose "Browse by Identification" and select "Philanthrophists and Social Reformers", there will be 263 results. From the results page that appears we can select "Modify Search". We can then select Gender "Female":

DCBadse

For this search, there are 103 entries listed once the "Submit" button is pressed.

The University of Toronto Press notes that the DCB is "Canada's oldest and largest research and publishing project in the humanities." Begun in 1959, the project is witness to the changing social roles of an earlier time, as when we discover, for example, that there are 1,590 male politicians listed in the database compared with a total of only 4 female politicians!

Still, what Robert Fulford wrote almost 20 years ago is just as true now: "today it would be hard to imagine anyone writing a serious book about pre-1900 Canada without using it." . . . and let's hope that the same will be said of the DCB by future researchers of 20th century Canada.

 

Exploring Maps Online Part 3: Major Sources of Digital Maps of Canadian Cities

July 11, 2012 | Richard | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Several of the sites listed here, are the same as those listed in Parts 1 and 2 of Exploring Maps Online.

The Atlas of Canada

The Atlas of Canada provides "authoritative, current and accessible geographic information products at a national level."


Elections Canada
and Elections Ontario


Environment Canada – Environmental Indicators


The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth


Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans


Library of Congress – Panoramic Maps 1847-1929


Ontario Archives – The Changing Shape of Ontario: A Guide to Boundaries, Names and Regional Governments


This exhibit includes maps of southern and central Ontario c1951. They are accessible by county name or through an interactive map.


University of Toronto Digital Maps Collection


Most of the collection is Toronto maps, but there are historical maps of cities across Canada and the U.S. as well.


University of Waterloo Subject Guide: Online Mapping

Maps of cities all over Southern Ontario are organized by location and theme and include links to many interactive maps.


University of Waterloo Subject Guide: Cartographic Materials, Municipal GIS in Canada

List of interactive maps of Ontario including many of specific Ontario cities


Additional Sites

These collections include digital maps and geospatial data sets relating to Toronto and other Canadian cities. It is not possible to view these collections on a TPL computer, but they are large collections.

The Canadian Atlas Online


City of Toronto Archives

This site contains a large collection of aerial photographs of Toronto. The digitized maps in this collection are presented in SID format which is not compatible with Macs. PC users will have to download the MrSID plug-in in order to view the maps in detail. Software is loaded onto public computers at Research Hall (255 Spadina Road).

GeoGratis

GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data at no cost and without restrictions via your Web browser.


Maps and Data at Ryerson


Note: accessible only to Ryerson University students


Scholars GeoPortal


Note: requires access through subscribing institution (e.g., Ryerson, York, University of Toronto)


Toronto.ca/open


York University – Geospatial Data

Note: accessible only to York University students

back to . . . Exploring Maps Online Part 1: Major Sources of Digital Maps of Toronto
back to . . . Exploring Maps Online Part 2: Sources of Digital Maps of Toronto by Type

revised: July 2012/HSS/rm-kw

Exploring Maps Online Part 2: Sources of Digital Maps of Toronto by Type

July 11, 2012 | Richard | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

There are many different types of maps.

The following listing of maps, by type, cite the same sources that were listed in Part 1.

Aerial Photographs

The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


Base Maps

The Atlas of Canada – Map Archives

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


City Planning

City of Toronto

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans 

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


Environment & Conservation

The Atlas of Canada

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project 

Environment Canada


Fire Insurance Plans

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive


Historic

City of Toronto Archives

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project 

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans 

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive

Toronto Public Library Map of Neighbourhood Historical  Resources

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


Land Use & Zoning

City of Toronto

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans


Municipal Services

The Atlas of Canada 

City of Toronto

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans 

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


Parks & Recreation

The Atlas of Canada

City of Toronto

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans


Social Trends

BlogTO Neighbourhood Guides

City of Toronto


Roads & Transportation

The Atlas of Canada

City of Toronto 

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


Topographic Maps

The Atlas of Canada

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


Wards & Electoral Boundaries

City of Toronto

Elections Canada

Elections Ontario


Waterfront

The Atlas of Canada

City of Toronto

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive

University of Toronto Map & Data Library


. . . next . . . Exploring Maps Online Part 3: Major Sources of Digital Maps of Canadian Cities
. . . back . . . Exploring Maps Online Part 1: Major Sources of Digital Maps of Toronto

 

revised: July 2012/HSS/rm-kw

Exploring Maps Online Part 1: Major Sources of Digital Maps of Toronto

July 11, 2012 | Richard | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

 

This guide, in three parts, is meant to help researchers find digital maps of Toronto and other Canadian Cities. All collections include at least some maps in formats viewable on Toronto Public Library computers. See part three for a list of Additional Sources for Toronto digital map collections with limited access or format types incompatible with TPL computers.

Recent advances in technology have supported the development of geographic information systems (GIS), which are available through many of the following sources. GIS make it easy to represent geospatial datasets as maps and are typically interactive.

Toronto Public Library Digital Archive

Use this site to find over 600 digitized maps of Toronto ranging in date from 1788 to 1913. The collection includes base maps, city planning maps, fire insurance plans, historic and waterfront maps. All maps are in JPEG format.

Yorkmaprev3

Search tips
: On the right-hand side of the page is the option to Browse by Subjects. Select Toronto. On the left-hand side is the option to further narrow results by Subject. Select Maps. These can be sorted further by neighbourhood name or map type (e.g., fire insurance). 

Toronto Public Library Map of Neighbourhood Historical Resources

This interactive neighbourhood map links you to books and digitized maps and photos in the Toronto Public Library’s local history collections.

City of Toronto 

Use this site to find up-to-date maps of Toronto on a variety of topics, such as city planning, land use & zoning, parks & recreation, roads & transportation, and wards & electoral boundaries. The site also offers a number of GIS tools that map all of the above topics as well as social trends and municipal services.  See maps by topic for direct links to maps not listed on the Toronto Maps page.

Don Valley Historical Mapping Project

This resource’s collection includes over 100 maps of Toronto and the Don River Valley watershed ranging from 1780 to 1962 in a variety of types and topics, including city planning, environment & conservation, fire insurance plans, historic, topographic and waterfront.  These images are available to view in JPEG or TIF format. The project has also compiled a number of geospatial datasets which are presented in formats that are incompatible with TPL computers. 

Elections Canada and Elections Ontario

These sites provide maps of federal and provincial electoral districts in Toronto.

Page0001rev4

Environment Canada – Environmental Indicators

The site provides local and regional environmental indicators using multiple accessible map and data formats.

The Atlas of Canada 

Use this site to find Toporama, a GIS map of Canada that includes a detailed map of Toronto. Available geospatial datasets cover topics such as environment & conservation, municipal services, roads & transportation, topography and waterfront. The map archives contain a small number of historical maps of Toronto.

BlogTO Neighbourhood Guides

This site maps the restaurants and stores voted “best in Toronto” in each of Toronto’s neighbourhoods.

The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth

This site catalogues over one million images of the Earth from space. An interactive map search function allows users to focus in on any area of the Earth they choose. There are thousands of pictures of Canadian cities captured from space. 

Library and Archives Canada - Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans 

There are around 200 digital maps of Toronto ranging in date from 1788 to 1933. Map collection covers a variety of types and topics including aerial photographs, base maps, city planning, fire insurance plans, historic, land use & zoning, municipal services, parks & recreation, roads & transportation, and waterfront. Most digital maps are easily viewable in PDF format.

1857latestrev

Search tips: All records in the Maps, Chart and Plans collection are accessible using the Archives Search tool. Search for Toronto using the Title Keyword search option to eliminate maps published in Toronto. Beside Type of material select maps and cartographic material. Search for York and NOT New to eliminate maps published in New York. The results of these searches can be narrowed to display only maps that are available online.

University of Toronto Map & Data Library 

Use this site to find hundreds of maps of Toronto ranging in date from 1780 to 1990. Maps in this collection contain the following types and topics: aerial photographs, base maps, city planning, historic, land use & zoning, roads & transportation, topographical and waterfront. There are maps of Toronto neighbourhoods and suburbs. Much of the collection is taken from the Don Valley Historical Mapping Project. Map formats vary but may include ZOOMIFY, PDF, JPEG, JPEG 2000, ECW, and TIF. Some are ZIP files which are inaccessible on a TPL computer.  Some maps and most of the large GIS data inventory of Toronto materials are restricted to University of Toronto students and faculty.

. . . next . . . Exploring Maps Online Part 2: Sources of Digital Maps of Toronto by Type
. . . then . . . Exploring Maps Online Part 3: Major Sources of Digital Maps of Canadian Cities

revised: July 2012/HSS/rm-kw

 

Welcome! Discover the rich and diverse world of the Toronto Reference Library through the eyes of its expert staff. Join us to see the many ways we are connecting with the city - through special events and exhibits, new books, digital information and innovative library services.

The Toronto Reference Library on Facebook