Comic Artist Tory Woollcott Helps Teens Make Their Own Comics

September 24, 2017 | Cameron

Comments (0)

Guest post by Young Voices Comic Artist in Residence Tory Woollcott Hi there! Do you love comics in all their wonderful forms? Manga, graphic books, superhero comics, webcomics and more? Do you want to create your own? Good! Me too!! I’m Tory Woollcott and I’m the first Young Voices Comic...

Teen Review: Lost at Sea

August 25, 2017 | Teen Blogger

Comments (0)

Review by Rishona, member of the Editorial Youth Advisory Group. Lost At Sea is a coming-of-age graphic novel, written and illustrated by Bryan Lee O’Malley, with psychological undertones that could be interpreted as magical realism. It follows the story of one teenage girl as she walks familiar paths as an...

Teen Review: Nimona

July 19, 2017 | Teen Blogger

Comments (0)

Review by Jayden Nimona by Noelle Stevenson is a webcomic-turned-graphic novel published by HarperCollins publishers. The world of Nimona is a living entity, woven with magic explained by science and science explained by magic. It’s a subversion of all things fantasy and superpowered; the good guys are evil, the heroes...

Teen Review: Scott Pilgrim

June 2, 2017 | Teen Blogger

Comments (0)

Review by Matthew, member of the Cedarbrae Youth Advisory Group In the mysterious land of Toronto, Canada, Scott Pilgrim is just living his precious little life. He’s in a rock band, “between jobs”, and dating a cute high school girl. Everything is fantastic until he comes across the girl of...

400 Comic Creators Coming to Toronto this Weekend for TCAF

May 9, 2017 | Ken Sparling

Comments (0)

Poster by Jeff Lemire More than 400 creators from over 20 countries are headed for Toronto this weekend to participate in the Toronto Comic Arts Festival, May 13 and 14 at Toronto Reference Library. Pénélope Bagieu, Guy Delisle, Jeff Lemire, Gengoroh Tagame, Jillian Tamaki, Marcelino Truong are among the featured...

Ask Vivek: Recap

This, sadly, is my last post as E-Writer in Residence. It’s been such a gift to connect with you in person at various libraries and events, and online through your writing. I feel fortunate to have been given this opportunity to read (and listen) to your words. I am immensely...

DOCTOR STRANGE - movie review

November 12, 2016 | Teen Blogger

Comments (0)

Reviewed by Sohinee *Spoiler ahead* (If you haven’t watched Doctor Strange why are reading this review?) All aboard the Marvel Cinematic Universe train, because there is no stopping it. The MCU released its 14th superhero movie on November 4. The movie starred Benedict Cumberbatch, Tilda Swinton, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Benedict Wong,...

Ask Vivek: How do I make comics?

This week’s question was about comics. I don’t have any experience making comics, so I thought I would interview two comic artists that I really admire: Michael DeForge and Eric Kostiuk Williams. Michael has created several comic books and zines and recently worked on Adventure Time. Eric has created a...

DeMarre Carroll Promotes Comic and Gives Advice

September 29, 2016 | Debbie

Comments (0)

This month teens were on hand to hear financial tips from the Toronto Raptors' DeMarre Carroll and receive a free copy of the new Marvel comic, Guardians of the Galaxy: Rocket’s Powerful Plan, provided by Visa. The comic combines Marvel’s iconic Super Heroes with Visa’s financial literacy expertise on important...

Your Bookmark Here: Messy Business of Art and Revenge

September 20, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Original Fake, by Kirstin Cronn-Mills and E. Eero Johnson A closet artist in a family full of sparkly stage presences, Frankie has come to hate his sister just as much as he worships street art hero Uncle Epic, his town's answer to Banksy.Things collide when he gets perfect blackmail material...

The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace & Babbage

August 31, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Charles Babbage created plans for a calculating machine. Ada Lovelace read them and added notes that included the first glimmers of computing. Computers were nowhere in sight and were still a century away... but what if they weren't? What if these two teamed up and created this machines, turning it...

Teen Review: Death Note

August 28, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Review by Yasir, age 15 Death Note, written by Tsugumi Ohba and illustrated by Takeshi Obata, is an action, mystery manga (in which many people die so I advise that don’t read it unless you are 14 or above). The word death note is based on the note book in...

Teen Review: The Mystery Boxes

August 27, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Review by Syeda, age 14 Explorer: The Mystery Boxes - Edited by Kazu Kibuishi 'A book about mysterious boxes? YESS!' That's what I thought when I saw this book and it sure didn't disappoint me. This is a graphic novel that's made up of 7 different stories with the same...

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl

August 24, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Marvel's Unbeatable Squirrel Girl may not be as well known as the Avengers or the X-Men, but she's the only one who's beaten all the biggest and toughest - Wolverine? Check. Deapool? Yup. Doctor Doom AND Thanos? Got the better of both of them. Sometimes, cute and resourceful is totally...

10 Questions with Author Ryan North

August 23, 2016 | Claire A

Comments (0)

The Maria A. Shchuka Youth Advisory Group recently had the opportunity to ask some questions to Ryan North, author of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl. 1. Which of your characters are your favourite? My favourite character is T-Rex from Dinosaur Comics: he's the first character I really came up with, and...

Awkward

August 10, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Awkward is an aptly titled chronicle of social awkwardness, misunderstandings, and the clash of different groups of middle schoolers. Peppi is endearing but makes a mess of things with Jaime, and soon finds her art group at war with his science group, and she wonders if she can ever make...

YA Literature & Retellings Inspired by Classic Stories

August 2, 2016 | Christine

Comments (0)

I have always enjoyed reading fairy tales and other classic stories from many different places. I like to see where they come from, what were the ideas behind them, and how they can change depending on who was telling them. Some of my favourite books are based on retellings of...

Orange: REVIEWED

July 28, 2016 | Monica

Comments (0)

Reviewed by Naailah at Cedarbrae "The pain will go away, but the regret won't. Not even in 10 years." For fans of A Silent Voice, Your Lie and April and The Girl who Leapt Through Time, here comes a slice of life series with a hint of science fiction. Originally...

Happening This Week: July 18-24

July 17, 2016 | Alice

Comments (0)

Dance. Draw. Act. Beatbox. Learn. We have a lot going on this week! Two weeks of hip hop dance with Scarborough dance crew Bucc N Flvr kick off this week at Maria A. Shchuka branch July 19. Michael Brown uncaps some sharpies for an art programme at Don Mills on...

YA Literature & Strong Women

July 8, 2016 | Christine

Comments (0)

Who do admire in your life? Is it someone you know personally? Maybe someone famous from the past? Or is it a character from a book that you love to read from cover to cover every chance you get? I really enjoy reading about people with lots of personal strength,...

Spotlight On: Manga

July 6, 2016 | Alice

Comments (2)

Our Summer Reads booklist is all books, but not all novels! Take a look in a graphic book with one of these manga titles we've picked for you:

A Silent Voice Volume 1: REVIEWED

June 20, 2016 | stephen

Comments (0)

Reviewed by Naiilah at Cedarbrae For fans of Your Lie in April, Orange, and Inio Asano's works, A Silent Voice is a slice of life manga that is unlike any other. A Silent Voice is 7 volumes long and all of the volumes are translated and available in both English...

Your Bookmark Here - Dare to Disappoint: Growing Up in Turkey

March 12, 2016 | Amanda

Comments (0)

Dare to Disappoint is a graphic memoir that tells the tale of Ozge and her journey from young childhood to young adulthood. Ozge grows up with a father who longs for her to go to school and become an engineer – like her older sister but, Ozge yearns for more…...

NIMONA reviewed

March 3, 2016 | Teen Blogger

Comments (0)

Review by Asma, member of the Cedarbrae Youth Advisory Group Nimona is a sci-fi graphic novel based on the webcomic series of the same name. It centers around a funny, brash, mysterious young girl who teams up with a notorious evil villain as her sidekick. Ballister Blackheart with Nimona and...

KIMI NI TODOKE Reviewed

December 10, 2015 | Teen Blogger

Comments (1)

Here we have Sawako “ Sadako” Kuronuma , an extremely shy girl who wants nothing more than the best for people. At school however,the students are scared of her and mock her because she resembles the main character “ Sadako “ for the japanese adaption of “ The ring” and...