Staff Picks: Honestly Ben

April 23, 2017 | Cameron

Comments (0)

BenIn the follow up/companion novel to "Openly Straight" Bill Konigsberg takes us back into the world of Ben Carver. Ben's life is back to normal and he has put the difficult relationship with Rafe behind him and he is doing very well. He is captain of the baseball team, has won a full scholarship to go to college and he kind of has a crush on this new girl Hannah. However, as Ben begins to mature and develop more he is beginning to notice things that did not capture his attention before.

His mother seems oddly removed from her own life, school feels much harder than it has in the past - especially with the pressure of maintaining high grades to keep his scholarship. Rafe is already dating someone else and Ben worries that he could be the normal that he needs right now. Also why is Ben's father so distant and yet so demanding?

"Honestly Ben" is a funny and impeccable read for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith and John Green. This book will appeal to anyone who at one point in their life has tried to just honestly be themselves.

Get the physical book here. No e-book at the moment but keep checking. 

Comments