Research Guide

North York History Resources

June 3, 2013 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The Canadiana Department at the North York Central Library houses the North York History Collection where you can find books, newspapers, photographs and maps of people, places and events in North York. Both Canadiana and the Humanities and Social Sciences Department at Toronto Reference Library house minutes, reports, planning documents etc. from the former municipality of North York

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Subjects and Keywords (to limit results, use Advanced Search and the subject field)

Suggested Titles

Using Online Resources

  • click on a neighbourhood name and follow the link for books and digitized images

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

In-Library Resources

Database

Files

  • North York History Files 
  • Contains mainly newspaper articles about North York people, places and events . (In Reading Room)
  • North York Pamphlet Files
  • Contains pamphlets and other material concerning North York people, places and events. (In Closed Reference Stacks)
  • Urban Affairs Scrapbook Collection (years 1969-1999 available on microfiche)
  • →More scrapbooks

Newspapers on Microfilm

  • Bayview-Mills Town Crier (1993- [almost] present)*
  • Bayview Post (1989-[almost] present)*
  • Enterprise (1926-1969) [some issues missing]
  • Mirror (various editions: 1957-[almost] present)*
  • North York News (1951-1995)
  • *More recent issues available in paper format

Microfilms

  • Abstract index [by lot and concession number], York Township (Reel LML 1494+)
  • Assessment Rolls, York Township, 1882-99 (Reel LML 2-105-6+)
  • Deeds, York Township,1868+ (Reel LML 1455-6+)
  • York County Surrogate Court Records Index 1940-1967 (Reels MS 869)

Additional Resources

  • Directories (list in North York History Files) and some extracts (917.1354 Y in North York History Collection)
  • Family histories
  • Maps and aerial photos (see finding aid Guide to Canadiana Maps)
  • Municipal Documents (former City of North York documents such as official plans, minutes of North York Council)
  • Photographs
  • Township Papers (Toronto and York)
  • Voters' Lists, York Township and North York (1942+)

For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library 416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

Guide to Census Records

May 16, 2013 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

Census :  an official enumeration of populations that can help you discover birth dates, the names of parents and siblings, immigration details and much more.

Search the library's website for:

  • census handbooks  for background and tips on using the censuses of various countries
  • Add  location and year to the word "census"
  • Use library recommended websites to discover a variety of  online census records.

    Suggested Titles:

 Finding answers in British Isles Census records

    Additional material on Great Britain census handbooks

 Guide to the United States census 1790 - 1930

    Additional material on the American censuses

Manual containing "The Census Act" and the instructions to officers employed in the taking of the first census of Canada (1871)  .

    Additonal material for 1871 census of Ontario.

Online Resources

Canadian Census Records Online

Catalogue of Census Returns on Microfilm 1666- 1901
Searchable online geographic index allows for identifying microfilm reel numbers for census returns. 

Electoral Atlas of the Dominion of Canada
Provides access to a set of detailed maps showing federal electoral boundaries. Most of the electoral districts described in this 1895 atlas are identical to the 1901 census districts. Detailed ward maps for cities are also available.

All  Canadian census returns from 1851 to 1916 have been digitized and are currently available on multiple websites in addition to Ancestry Library Edition.   Ancestry Library Edition can be used in any Toronto Public Library branch and has all Canadian censuses from 1851.

Below are websites that have census information. Note: some are indexes, some have images, some are only searachable geographically.

Library and Archives Canada : Censuses 

Gives an overview of the Census collection with links to LAC census databases and finding aids.  The microfilm of the 1916 census  has also been digitized. Details on census column headings, abbreviations and enumeration dates can also be found on their site.

Canadian Censuses on FamilySearch  includes provincial censuses prior to 1842, and censuses 1851 - 1906, and 1916. 1861 census is listed by province. FamilySearch is provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

Automated Genealogy has indexed the 1852 census (Ontario and Quebec and New Brunswick), 1901, 1906 and 1911 censuses

OntarioRoots.com   has a Toronto Street Finder for ward and district for the 1901 and 1911 censuses.

The Programme de recherche en démographie historique (PRDH), has the 1851/2 and 1881 census data.

Alberta Genealogical Society, Edmonton Branch   has indexed the 1901 census for Alberta and Saskatchewan.

 Newfoundland (prior to entering Confederation in 1949)

Transcriptions for various years Newfoundland (Newfoundland's Grand Banks Genealogical and Historical  Data)   Some are incomplete.

 

British and Irish Census Records Online

1841 - 1911 Census for England,Wales and Channel Islands   (FamilySearch)
  ( note: 1871 census is ~ 80% complete)

1901 Census of England and Wales
Free to search, pay to view records

1911 census of England and Wales
Free to search, pay to view records

IRELAND

Griffith's Valuation 1847 -1864
Griffith's is considered the Irish Census substitute.

Census of Ireland 1901/1911

 SCOTLAND

Scotlands People
Census records for 1841 - 1911. Free surname searches; pay to view records.

1841 - 1891 censuses  free on Family Search.

US Census Records Online

1790 - 1940 US censuses  (FamilySearch)
 Indexed and usually linked to images. Free

Digitized microfilm of 1790 - 1930 US census on Internet Archive. For help in using the microfilm try Donslist Finding Guides

Note: 1890 US census largely destroyed by fire.


In Library Resources

North York Central Library's Canadiana Department has all the available Canadian census records on microfilm. It also has an extensive collection of Ontario census indexes published by various genealogical organizations. The Toronto Reference Library  has microfilm census records for provinces outside Ontario. Prior to the 1911 census, its Ontario holdings are limited to Toronto & York County only. To identify which microfilm reel to search, consult the Catalogue of Census Returns on Microfilm 1666 - 1901 also available in paper format.  

The Toronto Reference Library's Humanities and Social Sciences Department houses many CD-ROMs and materials for U.S. and British and Irish census resources as well as early Quebec censuses (1660's) and the 1681 census of New France.

Ancestry Library Edition can be used on any computer in a Toronto Public Library branch, but is not available remotely.  It allows individual name searches, often with original images to:

Canadian censuses 1851 - 1916;  UK Census Collection for 1841 - 1911;  American  Census Records 1790 - 1940 and some European census records

Quebec Records.com  (available at North York Central and Toronto Reference Library)
French Canadian genealogy resource includes census information for Quebec in 1881 and for both Quebec and Ontario in 1901.  

 Additional Library Collections

Ontario Genealogical Society Deposit Collection  at the North York Central Library has an excellent collection of materials on British, American and Canadian censuses.

 

Canadiana Department, North York Central  416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

 

Black Genealogy

March 18, 2013 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The Canadiana Department at North York Central Library houses research material for genealogists and local historians, with a particular emphasis on Canada and includes the Deposit Collections of five genealogical societies. The Toronto Reference Library (TRL) has an extensive genealogy collection including non-Canadian genealogy.

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Keywords:

Suggested Titles: Handbooks and Guides

American and Caribbean

Canada: Early Black history

Publications on Black settlements in various town and townships in Ontario are also available.

Using Online Resources

Recommended Websites:

Recommended Databases:

In Library Resources

Database

  • Ancestry Library Edition (access from any Toronto Public Library computer)
  • e.g. their database "Slave registers of former British colonial dependencies in 1812- 1834"

Additional In Library Resources

African-Canadian newspapers on microfilm

Other Resources


For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library  416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

Digitized Toronto Newspapers: Globe & Mail and Toronto Star

February 26, 2013 | Jean Lochis | Comments (5) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The Toronto Star - Pages of the Past and the Globe & Mail – Canada’s Heritage from 1844 are two databases that allow users to search for words and phrases in complete issues of these newspapers.   These databases display images of the newspapers as they were originally published, including news stories, editorials, photographs, advertisements, classifieds, and birth, marriage, and death notices.

Coverage: (usually stops at 3 years before the current year)

Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage: starts in 1844

Toronto Star - Pages of the Past: starts in 1894

 

Access to the databases from outside the library 

Note: Valid Toronto Public Library card required. (Many Ontario Public Libraries also subscribe to these two databases)

Searching the newspapers

  • For the Globe & Mail choose either  "Search by Word or Phrase" or "Browse by Date"

Globe screenshot circled

 

  • For the Toronto Star use "Click here to Search".

  Pages of the Past screenshot circled

 

  • Select a start date and end date. You can search from one day to 5 years at a time
  • Narrow your search by selecting a particular section e.g. News, Births/Deaths/Obits etc.  Caution is advised when specifying content/section in older newspapers

 

Searching for a phrase or a person's name

Do not use any punctuation in the Toronto Star database.

All Words is the default search type and will include any pages where all the words appear, even if they are on different parts of the page.

Exact Phrase retrieves pages where the words appear exactly as you have entered them (e.g. the words "John Smith" together). You may need to enter names in reverse order ( e.g. "Smith, John")  to find occurrences in obituaries, lists, etc.

 Viewing the results of a search

Globe_SearchResults2_13feb[1]

  • A chronological list of newspaper pages matching your search appears
  • Click on the date to view
  • Search terms may be highlighted in yellow, but if not, use CTRL- F (Find) to locate your search terms.
  • To change the size of the image use the Adobe toolbar (hover the mouse at the bottom of the image to bring up the toolbar) and use the + or - buttons.
  • Use the arrow buttons at the top of the screen to move to the next or previous result. To return to the complete list of results, click on  Results List.

  Star_SamplePage_reduced13feb

Printing or Saving

To print the whole newspaper page, reduced to letter or legal size paper, click on the printer icon in the Adobe toolbar and select  "Print All".  

To print part of a newspaper page:

  • Click on the Graphics Select button  Button_graphics_select  in the Adobe Acrobat toolbar.
  • Select the area you want to print by clicking the mouse and dragging it to draw a box.
  • Click on the print button in the Adobe toolbar and
  • Select the "Print Selected Grahic" option.

Note:  The "Graphics Select" feature is only found in newer versions of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Older version of Acrobat Reader will only allow you to print the whole page.

To save a page to a flash drive/memory stick (PDF format)

  • insert a memory stick into the computer
  • click the diskette/save icon in the Adobe toolbar 
  • in the "save in" box select the correct drive name, for instance "E", for the flash drive
  • click "Save"

Not getting the results you expected?

Review any punctuation - is it allowable? The computer sometimes reads words incorrectly due to poor resolution especially in the earlier papers. Column or line breaks with unexpected hyphens can also create problems. Try alternate spellings, different search settings or Browse by Date (Globe and Mail) or enter a date to browse the Toronto Star.

 

Military Records

December 20, 2012 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

When searching for ancestors in earlier military records such as muster rolls or pay lists, you may only find lists of names.  However in later periods, personnel records which include date and place of birth, next of kin and occupation may be available. The Canadiana Department at North York Central Library has resources focusing primarily on Canadian military records.  The Toronto Reference Library has additional resources on British records.

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Subjects and Keywords

Suggested Titles

General

War of 1812

1828-1913

1914 - 1918

1939-1945

Using Online Resources

Recommended Websites

In Library Resources

Database

Periodical 

Microfilms  (those marked with *** have been digitized at Library and Archives Canada )

Check the finding aid available at the North York Central Library:

  • 1755-1815 Registers of POWs
  • 1777-1783 Loyalist regiment muster rolls (see also Online Institute for Advanced Loyalist Studies)
  • 1812 Claims for losses index (and documents)***
  • War of 1812 nominal rolls & paylists - Lower and Upper Canada***
  • 1812-1838 index to British military and naval records (and documents)***
  • Records relating to the Rebellion of 1837/8
  • 1866-1870 Fenian Raids bounty, general service, medal registers
  • 1885 - North West Rebellion medal registers
  • 1899-1902 - South Africa/Boer War medal registers
  • 1902 - Coronation medallion register
  • 1910-1940 - Canadian Navy lists
  • 1914-1917 - Canadian Expeditionary Forces nominal rolls

Note: medal registers information has also been indexed in the Library and Archives Canada database "Medals, Honours and Awards

For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library 416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

Jewish Genealogy

November 12, 2012 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

 The Canadiana Department at the North York Central Library specializes in Canadian genealogy and Ontario local history.  Canadiana also houses the Deposit Collection from the Jewish Genealogical Society of Canada (Toronto branch). The Toronto Reference Library has additional resources on British and international Jewish genealogy.

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Subjects and Keywords

Suggested Titles

General

Canada and the U.S.

Great Britain

Europe

Israel

Using Online Resources

Recommended websites

Recommended databases

The databases below require a TPL library card to login

In Library Resources

Database

Periodicals

Microforms

Additional Sources

    Consult the JGS Toronto Branch's Resources link .  The Canadiana Department at North York Central Library houses their library collection.  Their library includes an extensive collection of periodicals from other Jewish genealogical societies, some family histories, as well as directories, dictionaries, bibliographies of memorial books and information on local and European Jewish cemeteries.

For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library 416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

Genealogical Biography

October 12, 2012 | Jean Lochis | Comments (1) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

Could your ancestors have been  prominent in their community?  Did they belong to a group or association, or were  they members of a profession or trade?  They may well appear in publications produced by these organizations. The Toronto Reference Library and the Canadiana Department at North York Central Library hold numerous examples of such resources, ranging from biographical dictionaries to membership directories.

Searching the Library website

Suggested keywords and subjects:

The terms "biography", "dictionaries" and "directories" can be useful in combination with the group/occupation/place  for instance:

 

Suggested Titles

General Biography

Arts & Education

Ethnicities

Business, Government and Legal

 Local

Medical

Regional

Religious

 

Early Immigrants - Lists

    There are numerous titles about early immigrants from various European locations.  Check our Passenger List Research Guide

 

Online Resources

    Available through the TPL website with a TPL library card:

Available on the Internet:

In Library Resources

  • Newspapers  on microfilm  such as:
    •  Toronto Telegram (1876 - 1971)
    •  Ottawa Citizen (1850 -   )
    •  Winnipeg Free Press (1874 - 2010)
    •  Montreal Gazette (1785 -   )

 

For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library,  416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library,  416-395-5577

Asian Genealogy

September 12, 2012 | Jean Lochis | Comments (1) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

Trace your Chinese ancestors in Canada using immigration records and head tax certificates.  The Library also has some handbooks and name guides on Japanese, Korean and East Indian genealogies. Some resources are written in the ethnic language.

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Subjects and Keywords

Suggested Titles

Using Online Resources

Recommended Websites

Chinese

East Indians

 Recommended Databases

In Library Resources

Database

Microforms

Check the finding aids available at the North York Central Library :

    Census

  • Catalogue of census returns on microfilm: 1666-1891 and 1901 supplement (also available online free from Library Archives Canada)
  • 1906 and 1916 Censuses of the Northwest Provinces

     Ships, Passenger Lists:

  • Registers of Chinese Immigrants, 1887-1949 
  • British Columbia Ports - Passenger Lists 1905-1935
  • Newfoundland registers of arrivals and outward registrations
  • The above are combined in one database available online free from Library and Archives Canada)

 For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library 416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Science, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

 




Western Canada - Genealogy

June 20, 2012 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The historical development of the Western provinces greatly determines the location and availability of genealogical records.  The Canadiana Department at the North York Central Library has a variety of resources including early historical maps, census returns,  directories and more.  Also available are deposit collections from the Canadian Society of Mayflower Descendants, and Jewish Genealogical Society.The Humanities & Social Sciences Department at Toronto Reference Library has extensive records for Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Subjects and Keywords

Suggested Titles

General

Alberta

British Columbia

Manitoba

Saskatchewan

Using Online Resources

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

(Please note: the databases below all require a Toronto Public Library card to login)

In Library Resources

Databases

Periodicals

Microforms

  • Winnipeg Free Press 1874 - (selected articles available online from 1982 with TPL library card)
  • British Columbia Directories 1900-1954
  • Western Canada: Directories 1880 - 1953

For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library 416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

Atlantic Canada - Genealogy

June 5, 2012 | Jean Lochis | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started

The historical development of each Maritime province greatly determines the genealogical records available to trace family histories.  For example, civil registration was not required until the late 19th century.  The Canadiana Department at the North York Central Library has some early vital statistics, family histories, census records and more. Also available are deposit collections from the Canadian Society of Mayflower Descendants, and the Jewish Genealogical Society. The Humanities & Social Sciences Department at Toronto Reference Library has extensive records for Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.

Searching the Library Website

Suggested Subjects and Keywords

Suggested Titles

General  

New Brunswick

Newfoundland and Labrador

Nova Scotia

Prince Edward Island

Using Online Resources

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

In Library Resources

Database

Periodicals

Microforms

Maps

For further assistance contact:

Canadiana Department, North York Central Library 416-395-5623

Humanities and Social Sciences Department, Toronto Reference Library 416-395-5577

Discover the history of your family, your Toronto neighbourhood, or places in Ontario and across Canada.

Research online or at Toronto Reference Library and North York Central Library.

Learn about exciting programs and events.