Research Guide

Canada : Student loans, grants and scholarships

March 27, 2013 | Teresa | Comments (0) Facebook Twitter More...

Getting Started:

The Business Department at North York Central Library has a careers section that includes educational directories as well as directories that include scholarship opportunities.  The Business, Science and Technology Department at Toronto Reference Library also has an extensive collection of educational calendars and directories.

Searching the Library Website:

Suggested Subject headings/Keywords:

Scholarships--Canada--Directories

Student loans--Canada--Directories.

Endowment of research--Canada--Directories.

Suggested Titles:

Scholarships.com. - entrance awards directory which includes comprehensive information on Canadian scholarships and awards.

Assistantships and graduate fellowships in the mathematical sciences.

Scholarship: a handbook of scholarships, awards and financial assistance for Canadian high school graduates.

Canadian University Scholarship Handbook.

Guide to Canadian scholarships.

 

Using On-line Resources

Recommended Websites:

Canada: Student Loans, Grants and Scholarships:

CanLearn.ca - Browse through this section for tips on everything from financing your education to managing your loans.

The Canada Student Loans Program provides financial assistance in the form of loans and grants to post-secondary students who demonstrate financial need.

ScholarhipsCanada.com is an educational site for students to find scholarships, student awards, bursaries and grants.  Students can search for scholarships by name, school, field of study and scholarship provider.

Youth.ca will help youth learn about the various options available to help manage finances and pay for education.

Ontario: Student Loans, Grants and Scholarships:

Ontario Student Assistance Program - This is where you apply for OSAP or 30% off Ontario tuition.

Ontario Education and Training - Check out the Ontario Student Assistance Program  - a mix of grants and loans available for students.

Ontario Education and Training (loans grants and bursaries) - Where to find money that can help you pay for a college, university or apprenticeship program after high school.

Other:

The Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE) administers a range of awards on behalf of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

Student Awards.com was established in 1998 and is a free scholarship matching service, devoted to helping Canadian high school, college, and university students by providing information about scholarships, bursaries, grants, fellowships and other forms of financial assistance.

World Wide Learn.com strives to provide students with up-to-date information about financial aid for online learning programs. 

Recommended Databases:

Career Cruising - includes in depth information on college and university programs

For further assistance contact:

Business Department - fourth floor, North York Central Library - 5120 Yonge Street - (416)-395-5613

or

Business, Science and Technology Department, third floor, Toronto Reference Library - 789 Yonge Street - (416)-393-7149


Market Research & Launching Your Business Online

June 19, 2012 | Ashley | Comments (7) Facebook Twitter More...

Businesssuccess

 

Being a small business owner can be tough these days. Often one of the hardest parts about opening a small business is conducting market research. Market research should always be done both prior to opening a business and while your business is running to stay abreast with current industry trends. Some of the questions people may ask themselves before opening a small business are:

  • How feasible is your business idea?
  • How do you know what your customers want?
  • Who will your customers be, how do you get them to remain loyal?
  • How much risk is involved?

You are basically trying to predict the future - which is not an easy task. Sometimes it is hard to know where to start. Some companies pay thousands of dollars to conduct market research. However, you can do your own research - at the library of course!

Halffull
                                     http://tomfishburne.com/2009/01/glass-half-full.html

You are basically trying to predict the future - which is not an easy task. Sometimes it is hard to know where to start. Some companies pay thousands of dollars to conduct market research. However, you can do your own research - at the library of course!

On Tuesday June 26 from 6:30 - 8:30 the Business department at North York Central Library is hosting a seminar Small Business Success: Market Research & Launching Your Business Online . We'll teach you how to use some of our databases and other online/library resources to conduct effective market research. You can call the Business Department at 416-395-5613. Hope to see you there!

 

The Career and Job Search Help blog is a place where Librarians share and discuss great resources, upcoming programs, related Library services and the Toronto career development and small business scene. Enjoy, and thanks for talking to us!

Google